Royal Pirates | Review | Day 9

This was supposed to be up yesterday. Obviously, it didn’t happen. I was in such a good mood yesterday to get things done. I had work from 8am-2pm. I was even not too tired when I got home! I was felling well and got my lunch and watched an episode of the Next Great Baker on Netflix.

Somehow, my exhaustion snuck up on me. I ended up taking a 4 hour nap. So much for not being tired, right? Well, I woke up sometime before 9 last night. The only thing wrong with taking naps (particularly that long) was that I wake up in bad moods and my mind feels so foggy. I ended up Skyping with a friend (Korean lessons) and then going back to Netflix. I thought about posting, I really did. I just didn’t get to it because my mind was totally not there.

And so that is why it is getting posted today. The day’s challenge is to review the band of the first song of the month. In case you haven’t seen the post, the first song of the month that I listened to was On My Mind by Royal Pirates (haha, coincidence that I talk about my mind in this blogpost). I’m going to link you to some videos at the end of the blog post. šŸ˜‰

Up until a week or two ago, I haven’t really given Royal Pirates a chance. I’ve had theirĀ singles on my computer/Zune/iPhone for quite awhile, because I was given them by a friend. I don’t know what came over me, to try listening to them. However, I’m really happy I did. I’ve fallen in love with their sound.

To review them, I’m not really sure on where to start. I guessssssss, the sound that I really like. I’m not sure exactly what it is about them. Their songs that I’ve listened to seem like a mix of rock and pop. I think probably it might be more like punk pop? I’m not really sure. Whatever the genre, it doesn’t matter. There is a great flow to the songs that I’ve listened to of theirs. On My Mind has to be my favorite, though. Shout Out is pretty great too! I think that Drawing the Line is tied with Shout Out. Other than that, I’ve not heard any more of their songs. I think it’s a bit hard to find them on YouTube. However, they do have a website with a tracklist on it. I’m so checking it out.

I think they’re quite unique, in a way. They don’t seem to try to act like anything but themselves. They give off a feeling of sincerity, and I like that. I also think that their music videos are fun!

As for the members, since I’m new, I really don’t know them. However, from Wikipedia (thank goodness for you, life saver), I can tell you that their names are Kim Moon Chul, Kim Soo Yoon, and James Lee. I learned quite a bit from their Wikipedia page. Apparently, they used to do a lot of covers waaaay before they actually “debuted”. I find that really interesting. I plan to go searching for these covers.

Overall, I highly recommend this group to anyone! I think that even though they aren’t exactly “k-pop” they still fall into that category a bit? Even so, I think anyone can enjoy this group even if they aren’t into K-Pop or if they aren’t into rock type music. I think they’re a mix of both and that makes them likable by a variety of people. I honestly cannot wait to have more and more music by them.

And now for linking and videos. Here’s their Website, and here’s their YouTube Channel.

On My Mind (with subs, thanks person!):

On My Mind (Acoustic):

Shout Out (Synth Rock Version):

Shout Out (not synth rock version):

Drawing The Line (MV):

Drawing The Line (Band Version):

 

Hope everyone enjoys!

-Nicole

Leave a comment