Writings II

I am a member of this website called hexrpg.com…it’s a “Harry Potter Role-Playing” website, but yet, it really is so much more than that. It is a great community. In fact, not everyone role-plays or even writes. Some people are more into the economy of the site. Others are into the graphics or coding (making profiles and such). And then there are also some who enjoy the challenge of a good logic contest. Lastly (I think), but most definitely not least, are all of the chatters. I would say just about everyone chats in at least a couple of different forums. Of course, there are exceptions. Anyways, my point is there is much more to the site than the role-playing. Like, there are sitewide competitions. There’s a sitewide competition for singing, there’s also one for graphics, and there’s one for writing. Now, I like to think that I’m a writer. I enjoy writing even if I don’t do it as often as I would like. So I applied to be one of the top 20 writers in the competition. I didn’t make it. I was quite upset about it, but I won’t let it stop me from trying again next year. Here is my response to their prompt (in about 500 words). Actually, I should probably tell you the prompt first, right?

Prompt One: The only option remaining was also the riskiest.

Words you MUST have in prompt one: fire, soul, blue, crystal, solitary
Words you can NOT have in prompt one: safe, risk, choice, tough, problem

 

And then, now, here is my response to the prompt:

She watched as smoke billowed out of the apartments, biting at her bottom lip. There was chaos all around her. People were running from the building as the firefighters arrived, their screams filling the air. Windows were broken, glass scattered on the ground. She watched helplessly as a woman ran barefoot out of the building, the bottoms of her feet being slashed. It seemed the woman didn’t notice or didn’t care as she ran further away from the building and into the arms of her loved one. That was when she realized that woman lived two apartments down from her. Mr. and Mrs. Gary Kramer, they were called.

The fire continued to escalate. It seemed nothing the firefighters did was helping. All she wanted was to find him. He wasn’t in the crowd of the now homeless people. She decided he must still be in the burning building. Was he trapped? Maybe he was hurt. She wanted to be like the Kramer’s. Everyone would see Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Woods. They would at least have each other after losing everything else.

These thoughts made her realize she was being foolish. Why was she standing around? She was Ariel Woods, a fighter, a thinker, and a person who didn’t wait around for someone to do things for her. She walked towards the building with a very obvious urgency. If they couldn’t save him then she would. She had saved him before, so she would save him again.

She ignored the yells of those around her and shoved a man away as he grabbed ahold of her arm. No one was going to stop her from finding the other half of her soul. She quickened her pace to a run as she entered the building, covering her mouth and nose with the sleeve of her shirt. Her eyes blinked furiously at the smoke, her body cringing as it overpowered her. She couldn’t stop now. She had to find him.

The stairs to the second floor were metal and hot to the touch, but at least she could climb them. Ariel moved up them as quickly as she could. Not only was she trying to get to their apartment as fast as she could, but also trying to get away from the fireman that was following her. He was still trying to get her to stop. Why did he not understand that this was the only decision she could live with?

Once on the second floor, she saw there was a solitary door open. There was a heap in the doorway. Joseph? She crouched down and rolled him over. Indeed, it was him. Tears rolled down her cheek as her eyes met his crystal blue ones. She had made it just in time.

She dropped her arm and gave him a smile. She felt his hand on her cheek as she closed her eyes. Her body slumped down, fitting perfectly with his. The last thing she heard was him calling her name.

“Ariel.”

 

I honestly really love my entry. I’m happy with it, and I am happy to call it mine. But I will try to improve my writing ability and make it to the top 20 next year!

signature-blog