K-Drama Review! :: Heirs

Soooo, I’m not sure if this is the best drama for a first K-Drama review. O.o

I’ve seen a lot of negative and positive things about it. It’s really interesting what different people are thinking about it. And now I’m here to tell you my opinion. Yes, I’ve seen all available episodes (this means through episode 6). If anyone is wondering, I watch it on dramafever.

First off, I CANNOT stand the American actors in the first 3 episodes when it’s set in LA. Their acting is atrocious. Like, seriously, could they not find anyone better or did they just not care? Also, the horrendous stereotypes of Americans. Such a great way to offend foreign viewers and make them not want to watch your show…so great for international affairs. Not everyone in America drinks, does drugs, parties all the time, or only think about sex. It was really disgusting and I almost quit watching the show because of it. However, I didn’t…
Oh, and Lee Minho’s English could’ve been just a taaaad better.

If you get passed the whole crappy American stuff (which means starting with episode 4), it’s actually pretty good. I really am starting to like the story line and how everyone in the drama is somehow connected (most likely in multiple ways). It can be really intense. And at first, I was quit confused who was who and how they knew whoever. But it kind of all fell into place and now I think I got everything down. xD Not to mention, the Korean actors are awesome. I’ve seen a few of them in different dramas, so I’m already a fan. Total, I’d say that as long as they continue and don’t go back to the crappy American stuff, then they’re good and I’d call myself a fan of the show and try to forget the first three episodes.

And now to talk about how this drama is connected to K-Pop! My faaaaaaave part. 😀
First, Yoon Chan Young is played by Kang Min Hyuk from CNBLUE. Jo Myung Soo is played by Park Hyung Sik from ZE:A (who I recently got into and obsessively watched their TV show). And lastly, Lee Bo Na is played by Krystal Jung of f(x). Isn’t it amazing? I was thinking that these people looked soooo familiar.

Now, the one song of the drama is sung by Ken of VIXX! He’s one of my biases from the group. It’s almost a tie between him and Ravi. Anyways, it’s called In The Name of Love.

Link in case the video doesn’t work.

 

6 thoughts on “K-Drama Review! :: Heirs

  1. Did you finish this drama? My favorite actor was actually Kang Ha Neul. (I rave about him all the time!)

    I think what really upset me about The Heirs was how much potential it had and how much potential it wasted. I mean, seriously. Krystal was comedic gold! And such great chemistry between her and Min Hyuk! All wasted on a story that was going no where fast.

    I just wish that they would have let the characters take the lead in the story (like they did in the beginning) instead of trying to please the viewers with what they thought the viewers would want to see (i.e. typical drama tropes that are tired and overused).

    • I didn’t end up finishing the series. I just haven’t had time. Plus after I watched this much of Heirs, i jumped to more dramas that I haven’t finished. Plus right now I’m hooked on watching Supernatural (the American show).

      Oh yes, Kang Ha Neul seems pretty good. I haven’t watch anything else with him though. I do have some of the other dramas with him in them in my list to watch.

      I really agree! What I had seen so far, I wanted to see more between Krystal and Min Hyuk. I thought they were great.

      Ah, see, that’s one thing that isn’t good at all. That makes me almost not want to finish it. However, I know I’ll get to finishing it eventually.

      • It is definitely worth it finishing for the awesome performances of Min Hyuk, Krystal, Woo Bin, and Kang Ha Neul. This is one drama that I liked the supporting characters/actors better than the main ones.

        PLUS Choi Jin Hyuk has AMAZING performances in the final episodes. When it was all said and done, his character was the most impactful for me in the drama. Oh the things I could rewrite if I got the opportunity 😉

        As far as Kang Ha Neul, check out in To The Beautiful You or Monstar. Both dramas were light and breezy. He was also in the first few episodes of Angel Eyes. LOVED him in those episodes. Definitely an actor to watch.

      • From what I have watched so far, I love all of the supporting actors/characters more than the main characters. They seemed to be more full of life and just more interesting.

        You’re actually getting me really excited to watch more. ^.^

        I think I can say Min Hyuk might be my favorite of the actors in the series, but I can’t say for certain. My K-Drama experience isn’t very advanced!

        Oh and both of those dramas are on my to watch list!

      • Oh good! I felt like my review on my blog was super harsh. It was a decent drama it just needed better leads.

      • I’ll have to check out your review later! Ido agree. I think the leads, both referring to the actors & characters needed to be different. The supporting actors could have been their own drama and it would’ve been great!

Leave a comment